Brazilian GP: Kristoffer Holm dominates qualifying

xThe qualifying session at the Interlagos circuit is usually a very close one with results decided by hundreds, if not thousands, of a second. But this year the picture looked different as Kristoffer Holm made the fight for pole position a one-sided affair. The lightning-quick Swede out-paced his closest opponent and title rival Kris Locksey by over four tenths on his way to the top spot. Behind Locksey however the gaps looked more familiar as teammate Adrian Holm ended up less then half a one-hundred adrift, and home driver Jonas Andersson in the top Renault another tenth of a second behind in fourth place.

Behind the top four it was again a larger gap down to Markus Walter in fifth place. The Williams driver only completed one timed lap in Q3 before he had an incident, which forced him to sit out the rest of the session. The lap was still enough to keep Jörgen Ekroth at bay, resulting in a sixth place for the Renault driver.

Hans Mörtsjö performed well to take seventh place for his comeback race, which will mark his first appearance since the European GP in Valencia earlier this year. Mörtsjö beat Kalle Palmre in eighth place by two tenths, while the Toro Rossos of Anders Karlsson and Rickard Widén finished ninth and tenth respectively.

Saturday's race will see title rivals Kristoffer Holm and Locksey line up together on the first row, as both drivers are looking to have the upper hand heading into the season finale in Abu Dhabi. Can Holm carry over his fine qualifying form to get the edge in the championship, or will Locksey fight back when it comes to more than just pure speed to put himself into position to win his first drivers championship title? And don't forget about Adrian Holm and Jonas Andersson. The duo will be looking to score big points as the compete for fourth place in the championship standings, while Andersson will also be looking to perform well in front of his home fans. To find out how the race unfolds, tune in on Saturday as the action commences at 10.00 CET.

Published 2011-11-10 by Jonas Andersson | Edit